SOCW 2113 Social Work: A Helping Profession

An overview of the history of social services available to people in need.

Journals | eJournals

Social Work Periodicals

Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper title? Search for journals here to find out if we provides full-text coverage.

Search the Library Catalog

How to Find Journals in the Catalog

  1. Navigate to the library catalog by choosing Books, Articles & More from the navigation bar.

  2. Select the Library Links dropdown menu and choose the option eJournals A to Z List.

    Screenshot of library catalog displaying Library Links dropdown menu.
    Dropdown menu in the library catalog.
  3. Select the tab labeled Journals.

  4. Search or browse:

    • Search the eJournal A–Z List to find out if Northwestern provides full-text coverage.

    • Alternatively, select the Browse tab to see a complete list of journal titles.

    • WorldCat search junction with Journal selected and both search and browse options available.
      Options available in the periodical search junction.
  1. Navigate to the library catalog by choosing Books, Articles & More from the navigation bar.

  2. Choose the Advanced Search option.

    Advanced search option in the library catalog.
    Advanced search.
  3. Search by Title and specify Journal/Magazine under Format.

    Advanced Search in WorldCat with National Geographic entered under title and journal selected under format type.
    The advanced search screen.

While in an EBSCO database, select the tab labeled Publications and browse the publication list.

You can subscribe to receive updates from a particular journal by using the button (Create journal alert) to the left of the journal’s title.

Publication list displayed in a database.
Publications window in an EBSCO database.

Recommended Journals

These journals may be useful to you.

This is not a comprehensive list, but a list of starting points.