How Do I …? Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to Common Conundrums about the Library.

Get the FAQs

You Have Questions, and We Have Answers

Looking for something? Not sure where to find it? Check out the answers to commonly asked questions below. If that doesn’t help, please contact the research librarian at 580-327-8572 or dgdavidson@nwosu.edu.

How do I log in from off campus?

If you are off campus, the use of some resources may require you to log in through a system called EZProxy. You should see a log-in page such as the one below. Simply log in with the User name and Password that you use for Self Service.

If you have any difficulties accessing library resources, please contact us at 580-327-8574, or email nwlibraries@nwosu.edu.

Screenshot of EZProxy screen seen when logging in from off campus

Troubleshooting

  1. Go to Self Service to make sure you are logging in with the correct User name and Password. You will use the same credentials for off-campus access.

  2. Clear your browser history and cache. Sometimes your system may have cached webpages containing errors. Once you clear your history, go back to the library homepage and select the resource to which you are trying to gain access.

  3. Still can’t get in? Contact us. We need to know!

How do I request an interlibrary loan (ILL)?

  1. If you are looking for a book, check the NWOSU Library Services’​ online catalog to determine whether the book is available at the J. W. Martin Library.

    If you find a book in the catalog that is housed in another library, you can order it by clicking the button labeled Request Item in the book’s catalog entry. This will take you to a form; please fill it out using your NWOSU email address.

    If you are a distance learner or are on a satellite campus, please specify where the item should be sent. Feel free to contact the library staff for assistance.

  2. If you are searching in a research database and find an article that is not available in full text, the article’s reference information should include a link with the label Ask Northwestern to get this item from another library or similar.

    This link will take you to an online interlibrary loan form. Please fill out the form using your NWOSU email address.

  3. To request an item that you are unable to find in either a research database or the online catalog, use this interlibrary loan form. Provide as much information as possible, such as the complete title, author, and publication information of the book or article. Library staff members are available to assist you in your search or with your interlibrary loan request.

    If you have any questions, please contact the library via phone (580-327-8574) or e-mail (nwlibraries@nwosu.edu).

  4. If you find a book in the online catalog and wish to have it sent to another campus, you will find a link in the item record, Request NWOSU-owned item, through which you can request it. Expect loans between campuses to take one to two business days.

How do I connect to wireless internet at the library with my own device?

You can connect to our network as long as your laptop or mobile device is configured to recognize a wireless signal. Your laptop should locate the wireless network connection when you open your network and sharing center from your control panel.

The network for Northwestern Oklahoma State University is listed as Rangers.

How do I get the resources I want?

If you’re confused about the library resources, please see the guide How to Use the Library, which will walk you step-by-step through the print collection, the website, the catalog, and the online databases.

How do I use the online catalog?

Access to the WorldCat Local Catalog is available from the NWOSU Libraries’ homepage as well as most of our other pages. Try selecting the option Books, Articles & More from the black navigation bar at the top of this screen.

Screenshot of library homepage with catalog option highlighted on navigation bar

You can search by:

Keyword

Type any term, such as psychology, modeling, or mental health. But be aware that keyword searching only looks for your term. There is no guarantee that the results will be about your term.

Title

Type any known words from the title. Avoid articles like a or the.

Author

Use either Last name, First name or First name Last name order.

Limit results:

  • To Northwestern Oklahoma State University Library Services to discover items held at NWOSU Library Services.

  • By Content to find peer-reviewed articles or items available in full-text.

  • By Format to find specific types of items such as articles or printed books.

Screenshot of left sidebar in catalog, showing limiter options

You can click on the title link of any record to get more detailed information about the item. Make sure to note the location (call number) and the status (Available, Lost, or Checked Out) of the item you want.

How do I find magazine, journal, or newspaper articles?

  • The fastest and most thorough way to look for magazine, journal, or newspaper articles is to use the Northwestern Library Services’ online databases via EBSCO.

  • To learn more about how to use the research databases, watch this EBSCO tutorial, come to the Alva campus library for personal assistance, or contact the research librarian at 580-327-8572 or dgdavidson@nwosu.edu.

If you are looking for a local newspaper, please see our current list of newspaper holdings.

How do I download eBooks?

Try the eBooks Help Page for tips on downloading eBooks from our various collections.

How do I get research help?

Visit the guide Research 101 for self-guided help with the research process.

You can also contact the research librarian at 580-327-8572 or dgdavidson@nwosu.edu for research assistance.


Research Librarian Contact Information

Douglas Davidson's picture
Douglas Davidson