How do I log in from off-campus?
If you are off campus, the use of some resources may require you to log in through a system called EZProxy. You should see a log-in page such as the one below. Simply log in with the username and password that you use for RangerNet. If you have any difficulties accessing library resources, please contact us at (Alva) 580-327-8574 or (Enid) 580-213-3141, or email email@example.com.
- Go to RangerNet and make sure you're logging in with the correct log-in and password. You'll use the same credentials for off-campus access.
- Clear you browser history and cache. Sometimes your system may have cached webpages containing errors. Once you clear your history, go back to the library homepage and click Databases. Choose the database you're trying to get into.
- Still can't get in? Contact us. We need to know!
How do I request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL)?
- If you are looking for a book, check the NWOSU Libraries' online catalog to make sure the book is not available at the library. If you are unable to come to the library, feel free to call for assistance.
- Databases feature easy-to-use links that will take you to an online interlibrary loan form. Please fill out the form using your NWOSU email address.
- To request an item that is not in a research database or the online catalog, use this online form. Provide as much information as possible, such as the complete title, author, and publication information of the book or article. This increases the likelihood of successful results. Also, library staff members are available to assist you in your search or with your ILL request. If you have any questions, please contact the libraries via phone (580-327-8574) or e-mail (firstname.lastname@example.org).
- If you find a book in the online catalog and wish to have it sent to another campus, you will find a link in the item record through which you can request it. Expect loans between campuses to take one to two business days.
How do I connect to wireless internet at the library with my own device?
You can connect to our network as long as your laptop or mobile device is configured to recognize a wireless signal. Your laptop should locate the wireless network connection when you open your network and sharing center from your control panel. The network for Northwestern Oklahoma State University is listed as Rangers.
How do I get the resources I want?
If you're confused about the library resources, please see the guide How to Use the Library, which will walk you step-by-step through the print collection, the website, the catalog, and the online databases.
How do I use the online catalog?
You can search by:
- Keyword – type any term, such as psychology, modeling, or mental health. But be aware, keyword searching just looks for your term. There's no guarantee the results will be about your term.
- Title – type any known words from the title. Avoid articles like a or the.
- Author – use either Last name, First name or First name Last name order.
- To Northwestern Oklahoma State University to discover items held at NWOSU Libraries.
You can click on the title link of any record to get more detailed information on the status and location of the item. Make sure to note the location (call number) and the status (on the shelf, lost, or checked out) of the item.
How do I find magazine, journal, or newspaper articles?
- The fastest and most thorough way to look for magazine, journal, or newspaper articles is to use the Northwestern Libraries' online databases via EBSCO.
- To learn more about how to use the databases, watch this EBSCO Tutorial or come to the Alva campus library for personal assistance.
To what titles and dates of newspapers do the libraries subscribe?
NWOSU Libraries hold microfilm or physical copies of the following newspapers:
- Alva Review Courier
January 13, 1899 – Dec 31, 1994: Microfilm (Alva Campus)
November 10, 1994 – Present: Physical Copy (Alva Campus)
- The Oklahoman (Name changed from Oklahoma Daily Press Gazette to Daily Oklahoman to The Oklahoman)
March 10 – June 29, 1894: Microfilm (Alva Campus)
January 3, 1903 – 2010: Microfilm (Alva Campus)
Current Month: Physical Copy (Alva and Enid Campus)
- The New York Times
September, 1851 – 2010: Microfilm (Alva Campus)
- Oklahoma Observer
Current three months: Physical Copy (Alva Campus)
- Tulsa World
Current: Physical Copy (Alva Campus)
- Enid News and Eagle
Current: Physical Copy (Alva and Enid Campus)
- Local Papers – Current issue: Available only on the Alva Campus